How to Use Secret Conversations in Facebook Messenger

How to Use Secret Conversations in Facebook Messenger End-to-end encryption is now becoming a popular security feature in instant messaging apps. WhatsApp was the first to release this feature to the end user. Now Google Allo has implemented end-to-end encryption as incognito chats. The same feature is implemented in Facebook messenger for android and iOS as secret conversations. By default Facebook chats aren’t encrypted but you can choose your messenger chats to be end-to-end encrypted. You can also set expiry time for these chats and they will self destruct when the time completes.

The good thing about Facebook secret conversations is that they are device specific. Which means that they can’t be viewed on any other smartphone except the one which was used to initiate those conversations. These secret conversations aren’t available on the desktop version of Facebook.

How to Use Secret Conversations in Facebook Messenger

  • Open the messenger app and tap any chat-head. Then tap the “i” icon and tap “Secret Conversation”.

facebook messenger secret conversations
  • A new conversation will start with a black theme.
  • Tap the timer icon and set the expiry time ranging from 5 seconds to 1 day.
  • Then after setting the timer tap the text button “Aa” otherwise the chat will close and you have to start it again. 
  • The timer will only start when the recipient has viewed the message. The messages will automatically disappear after the expiry time gets over. 
  • You can only send messages, photos, stickers and location. You can’t send GIFs, videos, voice or video calling and payments. 

Note: You will be seeing two conversations for the same contact. The one with a black padlock is the encrypted chat and another is the unencrypted chat.

Advantages of Facebook Messenger Secret Conversations

  • End-to-end encrypted chats with self destruct feature and user configurable expiry timer.
  • Secret Conversations are device specific. They cannot be viewed on any other device except the one which was used to create them.
  • Messages are deleted from both ends i.e. from sender’s and receiver’s end.

If you liked the article then please share it.

Share This Post.

You May Also Read

Get Blog Updates Via Email Subscribe Now

Enter your email address:

Please check your email for the verification link. Click on the verification link to start your email newsletter subscription.

No comments:

Post a Comment